Dining With the Greats of God’s Army

20140702-142436-51876269.jpg
Photo by Susie Squirrell

We are excited to announce the upcoming arrival of no. 6! I am happy and feeling good and we embrace this new life and addition to the family. Yet with each new child comes a crisis of faith. Is God really asking more of me? How can I handle another baby? Can he provide for this one when it already seems we are stretched to the max?

And then I need another dose of vision. Of the why. Of the high calling. Of the purpose. I’d like to share with you this poem, which does exactly that.

I am a Woman

My willingness to carry life is the revenge, the antidote, the great rebuttal of every murder, every abortion, and every genocide. I sustain humanity. Deep inside of me, life grows. I am death’s opposition.

I have pushed back the hand of darkness today. I have caused there to be a weakening tremor among the ranks of those set on earth’s destruction. Today a vibration that calls angels to attention echoed throughout time. Our laughter threatened hell today.

I dined with the greats of God’s army. I made their meals, and tied their shoes. Today, I walked with greatness, and when they were tired I carried them. I have poured myself out for the cause today.

It is finally quiet, but life stirs inside of me. Gaining strength, the pulse of life sends a constant reminder to both good and evil that I have yielded myself to Heaven and now carry its dream. No angel has ever had such a privilege, nor any man. I am humbled by the honor. I am great with destiny.

I birth the freedom fighters. In the great war, I am a leader of underground resistance. I smile at the disguise of my troops, surrounded by a host of warriors, destiny swirling, invisible yet tangible, and the anointing to alter history. Our footsteps marking land for conquest, we move undetected through the common places.

Today I was the barrier between evil and innocence. I was the gate keeper, watching over the hope of mankind, and no intruder trespassed. There is not an hour of day or night when I turn from my post. The fierceness of my love is unmatched on earth.

And because I smiled instead of frowned the world will know the power of grace. Hope has feet, and it will run to the corners of earth, because I stood up against destruction.

I am a woman. I am a mother. I am the keeper and sustainer of life here on earth. Heaven stands in honor of my mission. No one else can carry my call. I am the daughter of Eve. Eve has been redeemed. I am the opposition of death. I am a woman.

By Christianna Reed Maas

8 thoughts on “Dining With the Greats of God’s Army

  1. DearestMeg says:

    Amen! Thank you for sharing this poem, Molly. It came in perfect timing for me. Excited for this new life you’ve been given! Congratulations, sweet friend!

  2. Katie says:

    This stirred my heart on so many levels. I absolutely love this eternity perspective. “In the great war, I am a leader of underground resistance…I smile at the disguise of my troops…” So profound. Love it. Here’s to #6!!! 🙂

    • deeproets says:

      Isn’t it an awesome poem? I get it out over and over again just to fill my spirit with vision and purpose. I didn’t write it, just to clarify. Christianna Reed Maas is the author 🙂

  3. Nicci Crisp says:

    wow Molly this is such a amazing post!! i am privileged to have you and your family in my world!

  4. feedingmyfold says:

    Wow, that is powerful and so comforting (even though we’re just on #2!).Thanks for sharing. Hope you are feeling well & getting rest!! 🙂

    • deeproets says:

      Thanks Abby! I’m excited for you guys. No such thing as ‘just’ on #2…I think the first couple are the hardest! You are doing an amazing job and because it isn’t easy, we need to be filled over and over again with inspiration and the ‘why.’ I can’t wait to see and hear how your sweet family grows 🙂

Leave a Reply

