My Favorite Potato Soup: Creamy Potato and Corn Chowder

20140425-151118.jpg
Celebrating 13 years!

I love reading food blogs. So many good ones out there. I am not going to try to be a food blogger- don’t worry- but I figured out a recipe I think is worthy of sharing.

1. I am a big fan of simple, delicious, economical recipes that feed a crowd (namely my family; but sometimes an additional dozen or so people!)

2. I have learned through trial and error that it’s usually best to trust your instincts…which is also how I happen to remember directions (drives my husband nuts). I’ve had a few trials (and errors) with overly complex Potato Soup recipes…hauling out immersion blenders, extra pots/bowls/fancy ingredients that are basically just unnecessary.

So the story is, on Saturday as my hubby and I were getting ready to celebrate our 13th anniversary with a night out in the Strand, I stopped being pretentious with my soup. I was running behind schedule, still wearing sweats and madly peeling potatoes just brought home from the grocery store. I threw this soup together, just following my instincts. I nearly burned it–our stove top has two settings: barely on and burning hot–but we caught it just in time. The seven babysitters (so grateful for our short-term missions team! You all are the best) and five children gave it a thumbs up.

I’m calling it Creamy Potato and Corn Chowder. It was soooo good. Comforting, flavorful, and much better than the other overly-complicated recipes I’ve tried. If you live in Alaska and have access to fresh, wild-caught salmon or halibut, I think it would be amazing in this! The kids and babysitters were happy and my husband appreciated the low-budget meal since we were going to splurge a bit that night.

This recipe, with a couple loaves of fresh homemade bread is a crowd pleaser!

Creamy Potato and Corn Chowder

10-12 medium potatoes, peeled
2 small onions, diced
2 large cloves garlic, minced
3T butter
Water to cover potatoes
4-6 sliced bacon, cooked and diced
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
Generous amount of salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 can creamed corn
3 cups whole milk
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:
Cook onions in butter until translucent. Add garlic, cook 3 minutes more. Add diced potatoes, cover with water. Bring to boil, cook until potatoes are tender. Mash potatoes with potato masher, leaving some bigger chunks. Add cooked and diced bacon. Add milk, parsley, creamed corn, and season with salt and pepper. Simmer gently for 15-20 minutes, or until potatoes are done. Add shredded cheese, stirring until melted, taking care not to burn on bottom. Garnish with additional parsley and bacon if desired.

*to save a step and a dish fry onion and garlic with bacon in bacon grease, omitting butter, using your soup dish. Yummmm…more bacon-ey goodness.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Potato Soup: Creamy Potato and Corn Chowder

  1. jimpbayer says:

    I am forwarding this to my Wife. It looks really good.

    Love getting you all’s blogs. Hope all is well

    Jim

    Jim Bayer 4178804413 linkedin twitter facebook branchout

  2. karingrim says:

    That soup looks spot on! Adding fish takes it up a notch in the protein category. The soup has a connection to working on my grandparents farm in North Dakota. Your grandmother said that they always had something to eat during the depression because of the farm and a good root cellar. My oldest brother said recently that he always loved to see potato soup on the table for supper. The farm soup was always so much simpler. No fancy stuff. Onions and potatoes and milk I believe but I never did see a recipe for it. But it was my grandma’s fresh baked white bread that was the killer with the soup.
    Edward Grim

    • deeproets says:

      Exactly…an unpretentious soup made even more perfect by a well-deserved appetite after a day working on the farm. I love the family connection. Yet another reason to do a Grim Family cookbook!

Leave a Reply

