Boxes

Boxes are a big part of my life right now. In fact, most of our lives are stored in boxes or recently unpacked from a box. In the last 10 months, we will have moved six times.

wooden-chest-steamer-trunk
Proverbs 24:3-4

By wisdom a house is built,
and through understanding it is established;
through knowledge its rooms are filled
with rare and beautiful treasures.
NIV

Yesterday, we sorted through more boxes, the remnants of our year-long stay in South Africa from 2006-2007. So much happened that year from the birth of our son to building a storehouse of memories with Pa, Gert’s father. He lived strong and joyful!

As I unpacked items long forgotten about, I remarked to my husband that God provided these much-needed household items long before we knew we needed them. Many things are brand new, in better condition than the items we let go of.

Psalm 139:2-4
You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
you know it completely, O Lord.
NIV

One of my daughters perceived that we don’t really have a home right now. Each of our children is dealing with this year of nomadic change differently. We thought Hebrews 11 would be a good chapter to memorize this month.

I pointed out that we do have a home, we’re just not there yet.

Heb 11:1-2
Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.
NIV

I’ve been missing my family lately, missing the conversations about work, the farm in North Dakota, the Mansion, kids, food, the weather…all the little things we talked about while living under one roof. My soul is restless, very aware of the lack of familiarity around me and longing for fresh mountain air and the sound of our clock chiming the quarter hour.

Our memories are packed up in boxes right now, stored away for safekeeping. These are not the boxes in the garage but rather compartments of my heart; each room of the rich and blessed life God has graced me with.

As I lay down many anxieties trying to live this life of faith, God is teaching me there are no formulas to living an exceptional life such as those in Hebrews 11. I want to imitate their faith. Yet the only way to successfully live a life of faith is by the power of the Holy Spirit.

All these people were still living by faith when they died.

They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance.

They admitted they were aliens and strangers on earth.

Eight days until we make our journey to the Cape. I hope we are in time to see the phenomenon of Namaqualand…an arid desert that erupts into flowery blossoms after the rains saturate the dry ground, but one time a year.
c_20_namaqualand%20flowers_hw%20(34)

namaqualand daisy daisies 1

photos

photos2

photos3

2 thoughts on “Boxes

  1. DearestMeg says:

    I love seeing how God works! The items that were packed away several years ago come back into use now, a full circle moment. It’s fun when we finally see the end picture of goods map or at least glimpses of it. 🙂 I truly enjoy reading your posts, feel like I’m right there with you!…if only. Love you, friend!

  2. Roslynn Mclain says:

    What beautiful thoughts and the workings of God for your family. Keep Writing, I love it!

Leave a Reply

