Natural Healing

DSCN1071

I started, like most new moms, rushing my hurting little ones to the pediatrician at the first sign of fever, runny nose, or cough, usually coming home with a round of antibiotics for an ear infection. Somewhere between then and now, I grew tired of round after round of antibiotics and the multiple trips to the doctor. It seemed like my kids were always catching something. I am exceedingly grateful for good medical care. But as I learn more about how food can heal our bodies, I am learning how there are other, natural ways to ward off infections and heal from various colds. I also purchased an otoscope and learned to identify the early signs of an ear infection developing. I give credit to my good friend Mariel, my go-to natural healing guru, for this natural healing remedy. I am using this on my four older children, all of whom developed colds with a cough, runny nose, and low-grade fever. GOOT stands for Garlic Olive Oil Treatment.

Goot

Goot
1/4 cup chopped garlic
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup extra-virgin coconut oil
5-6 drops oil of oregano

Blend all in blender until smooth, then strain through a fine mesh sieve. Put in a glass jar and store in refrigerator. Wait one hour before using. It will stay at full strength for two weeks. Put on soles of feet and also on the chest for colds. I’ve applied behind the ears for ear pain/infection.

My kids smell like spaghetti!

Note: My two month old also developed cold symptoms, with a very congested nose and sinuses. After further research, I decided to apply to soles of her feet and used a cotton swab to apply around the inside of her nostrils. Almost immediately I noticed an improvement in her breathing. Its important to strain the Goot through a fine sieve if you use in nostrils or around ears.

*Please follow your doctor’s advice and recommendations. I am not a doctor, nurse, or offering medical advice. I am a mom looking for a way to help my kids get over their sniffles naturally!

Leave a Reply

