The Great Commission and Elections

I feel, like many others, that I’m in a time of mourning for our nation. We prayed hard for this election and God revealed his will…but its not in the direction we hoped. Mourning is not a lack of faith. Its a spiritual and emotional response that is an important part of living by faith!

We know God’s ways are not our ways, and he uses many different methods to advance the spread of the gospel. Including persuasion and kindness. But also including persecution, war, natural disaster, and political leaders.

Habakkuk carried a burden of prophecy as he looked upon injustice, wrong, violence, and paralyzed law in his nation. He complained to the Lord! ‘How long, O Lord, must I call for help, but you do not listen?

I will stand at my watch and station myself on the ramparts; I will look to see what he will say to me, and what answer I am to give to this complaint.’

You know what the Lord’s answer was? Listen to this. Look at the nations and watch- and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.

The lense I see the world through is God’s kingdom. It is advancing all through the nations. Its so important to not become discouraged, cynical, or fatalistic in our faith regarding these elections and our government.

I turned to Psalm 2 on Wednesday morning. Have you ever read it?

‘Why do the nations conspire and the peoples plot in vain? The kings of the earth take their stand and the rulers gather together against the Lord and against his Anointed One. “Let us break their chains,” they say, “and throw off their fetters.”

The One enthroned in heaven laughs; the Lord scoffs at them. Then he rebukes them in his anger and terrifies them in his wrath, saying, “I have installed my King on Zion, my holy hill.”

I will proclaim the decree of the Lord:

He said to me, “You are my Son; today I have become your Father. Ask of me, and I will make the nations your inheritance, the ends of the earth your possession (vs 1-8).

You might not sense God calling you to move overseas into cross-cultural missions, like he is calling our family to. But did you see the electoral map of the election results by county? I perceive this map as a clear indication of where the mission field of the United States is. The inner-cities and metropolis are where the unreached of America lay.

This election is not a call to depression, seclusion, fear and bitterness! Its a call to sell yourself completely to the Kingdom of God. I believe we are about to see a great harvest, greater than the first. The fields are white in the world. Even here in America where immigrants abound and a generation of Americans do not know the living truth of the gospel.

Let’s cry out as Habakkuk did when he saw his nation in distress; when he heard and his heart pounded and his legs trembled…

I stand in awe of your deeds, O Lord. Renew them in our day, in our time make them known;
In wrath remember mercy.

Let’s ask for the nations as our inheritance, now, in our day.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

