I will Either Find a Way or Make One

After 2,000 miles in 7 days, $80 some in unexpected tolls, on IOU to the last toll in Illinois because we simply ran out of cash, I am happy to be home! Our friends and family made it so worth the drive to Iowa, Ohio and Wisconsin! It was amazing to catch up with people we knew when newly married (11 years ago. Ahem.) to discover we each have 4 kids, a yellow lab, men in the medical field, and a continuing passion for the nations. Awesome. Hope now has a best friend in 2 new states. Molly and Serene, she misses you desperately.

I should be feeding my kids right now.

Instead, the reality that we are moving away from my family and my dreams of someday living in Washington again with them is sinking in. I process things one step at a time. Much more manageable that way. First, the elation of hearing a ‘yes’ from God about going back into missions. Now, after months of waiting and straining to hear, God has cleared the way for us to see the direction of our next step.

Anyone recognize this place?

 

Cape Town, South Africa

 

Nine years ago, Gert and I were visiting his sister Charne’ in the most breathtakingly beautiful place I’ve been. Mountains, ocean, and century-old vineyards surrounded us.  I stood there, inwardly musing to the Lord, that the Cape would be my dream to live and minister in. I tried to think of a scenario that would take us there, and came up short. Oh well, I thought, it’s too beautiful and perfect and God usually wants to build character, not indulge vain imagination!

Even as I write this, I’m struggling to believe it.

We received permission from OM-South Africa to pioneer a NEW training center. Did we think of this idea ourselves? No, God dropped it in our laps. Its intimidating and exciting all at the same time. Several years ago, Gert and I received a prophetic gift from a spiritual father. It was a compass, with the words Aut viam inveniam aut faciam inscribed on the front. I will either find a way or make one.

For those of you who’ve been following our decision-making process, its been a wild ride. I have to say, several times, I wanted to rush ahead and just make a decision. When I tried this, my peace flew out the window and a knew I was out of line. God corrected my heart and reminded me to submit to him by submitting to my husband, and allow him to lead. God told me, instead of worrying or trying to figure things out, that I needed to pray for my husband to hear from the Lord and to make the right decision for our family. As soon as I did this, and I do not exaggerate, God opened the door for the Cape. It was maybe 5 days after I began to pray this way for Gert. I have to credit him for his stubborn optimism and faith that God wanted us in South Africa. He refused to give up.

I do not credit ourselves with finding a way or making one. I do, however, credit the Lord for giving us the faith and tenacity to hang on to a dream. Thank you for your prayers, we ask for you to continue. We love you!

2 thoughts on “I will Either Find a Way or Make One

  1. DearestMeg says:

    Faith and tenacity, indeed! Truly the Lord has it all in control and He is so good! My heart is sharing in your joy, Roets family! Continued prayers for you, sweet friend! Sending you my love.

  2. Lisa Manwarren says:

    We miss all of you! It was great to spend some time with you. We are praying for all the details of your new adventure!

Leave a Reply

I will Either Find a Way or Make One

After 2,000 miles in 7 days, $80 some in unexpected tolls, on IOU to the last toll in Illinois because we simply ran out of cash, I am happy to be home! Our friends and family made it so worth the drive to Iowa, Ohio and Wisconsin! It was amazing to catch up with people we knew when newly married (11 years ago. Ahem.) to discover we each have 4 kids, a yellow lab, men in the medical field, and a continuing passion for the nations. Awesome. Hope now has a best friend in 2 new states. Molly and Serene, she misses you desperately.

I should be feeding my kids right now.

Instead, the reality that we are moving away from my family and my dreams of someday living in Washington again with them is sinking in. I process things one step at a time. Much more manageable that way. First, the elation of hearing a ‘yes’ from God about going back into missions. Now, after months of waiting and straining to hear, God has cleared the way for us to see the direction of our next step.

Anyone recognize this place?

 

Cape Town, South Africa

 

Nine years ago, Gert and I were visiting his sister Charne’ in the most breathtakingly beautiful place I’ve been. Mountains, ocean, and century-old vineyards surrounded us.  I stood there, inwardly musing to the Lord, that the Cape would be my dream to live and minister in. I tried to think of a scenario that would take us there, and came up short. Oh well, I thought, it’s too beautiful and perfect and God usually wants to build character, not indulge vain imagination!

Even as I write this, I’m struggling to believe it.

We received permission from OM-South Africa to pioneer a NEW training center. Did we think of this idea ourselves? No, God dropped it in our laps. Its intimidating and exciting all at the same time. Several years ago, Gert and I received a prophetic gift from a spiritual father. It was a compass, with the words Aut viam inveniam aut faciam inscribed on the front. I will either find a way or make one.

For those of you who’ve been following our decision-making process, its been a wild ride. I have to say, several times, I wanted to rush ahead and just make a decision. When I tried this, my peace flew out the window and a knew I was out of line. God corrected my heart and reminded me to submit to him by submitting to my husband, and allow him to lead. God told me, instead of worrying or trying to figure things out, that I needed to pray for my husband to hear from the Lord and to make the right decision for our family. As soon as I did this, and I do not exaggerate, God opened the door for the Cape. It was maybe 5 days after I began to pray this way for Gert. I have to credit him for his stubborn optimism and faith that God wanted us in South Africa. He refused to give up.

I do not credit ourselves with finding a way or making one. I do, however, credit the Lord for giving us the faith and tenacity to hang on to a dream. Thank you for your prayers, we ask for you to continue. We love you!

Leave a Reply

