Home Remedy

I found this recipe on Pinterest, and when I saw cayenne and ginger in the mix I was sold. In the midst of this lovely fall-ish weather we are having, my head feels like it might explode. Congestion, sinues, cough. Somehow I cannot get myself to take any medicine while pregnant, call me paranoid, but an ailment has to be quite serious if I’m going to be passing it on to Little One! I mixed up a batch of this last night, tried it, and Gert caught me sneaking back into the kitchen in no time for another dose. A powerful dose of heat to be sure, but somehow it tastes good. Not recommened for your little kids! Although I’m going to make them one substituting lemon juice for the cayenne. Check out this blog for more interesting and simple recipes: http://nancyvienneau.com/blog/articles/home-remedy/

MAGGIE’S COUGH REMEDY

¼ t. Cayenne

¼ t. Ginger*

1 T. Cider Vinegar (an organic one, like Bragg’s, is preferred.)

2 T. Water

1 T. Honey (use a locally produced raw honey, if possible.)

Dissolve cayenne and ginger in cider vinegar and water. Add honey and shake well. Take 1 T. as needed for cough. Hoo-wee.

*I used fresh grated ginger for this recipe, however if you don’t like the texture, or don’t have any on hand, use ground ginger.

3 thoughts on “Home Remedy

  1. Mary says:

    Hello Molly! I have had allergy/sinus issues for years, it can be a nusance. Several years ago I started doing sinus flushes every evening before bed, the first few are not very pleasant until you get used to it, but they are so well worth the little bit of time. Not an infection in years and really helps get through allergy season, year round for me. If really bad I will do two or three a day. Makes breathing so much easier!

Leave a Reply

