Making Progress?

I recruited my husband’s (and oldest daughter’s) help making a “Graciousness Chart” and wow! Its like an architectural grid! No cutesy flowers and colors like I would’ve done. I love it. This 30-Day Challenge has already prompted discussions about privacy issues, how we speak to adults, how we treat our elders, manners at meal fellowships (church events), and gratefulness. The kids are motivated and excited.

As a parent is it so difficult sometimes to train our kids in the multitude of skills and character traits they need for a life serving the Lord. This 30-Day Challenge in Graciousness gives us much-needed focus and also a measurable goal, something that is often lacking in parenting!

How are you doing? What areas of manners, politeness, and graciousness have come up in your family?

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

9 thoughts on “Making Progress?

  1. Mary says:

    I read One Thousand Gifts over the weekend, a book about Grace and thanksgiving. It totally amazes me every time something is put before me and another confirms it. I thought I was thankful, but now I’m not so sure that that was the case at all. This is the second confirmation today that I need to work harder on thankfulness, graciousness goes right along with this! Thank you Molly!

  2. I love One Thousand Gifts, I got that recently and it was a great read. She is a wonderful author.
    I also recommend To Train Up a Child. This book has been the center of lots of conversations, but it is very Biblical and has helped us tons with raising our own kids to be Christlike.
    Sounds like you guys are doing really well on your 30 day challenge! Keep it up!

    • deeproets says:

      I’ve read both those books too! Have you read one called Give Them Grace? On parenting. I keep coming back to it and it looks like a different approach, maybe something to bring balance.

  3. Love this Molly! I’ve been keeping up on your blogs, I’d love to know more in details of how you are doing this w/the chart and how it is working…Im always looking for ideas, esp since we are starting our first yr of hs soon!!!

    Blessings, Cindy Percival

    Date: Wed, 15 Aug 2012 16:02:41 +0000 To: cindypercival@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

