30-Day Challenge: Training Gracious Kids

I’ve noticed most of my time spent mediating between my kids is due to simple neglect in courtesy. Neglecting to say, “May I play with your …. (iron man, doll, bouncy ball, etc). Or a loud “MOVE!” instead of “Excuse me, please.” Sometimes its forgetting to knock on the bathroom door before entering, which always causes a great commotion. This one is especially important if we go to South Africa, as the bathroom doors there don’t have locks!

This neglect is failing to follow what Jesus called the Golden Rule. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. Sounds simple enough! Now the difficult part is realizing much of the ‘tone’ of our house is due to me barking orders or commanding attention. I’m not always the most polite, sweet parent…I have to get their attention, after all! So the challenge for me is to learn a way of communication that still commands attention but is also polite and gracious. As parents, we are the model for our children, and our desire is to reflect Christ in every aspect of our parenting.

So we are embarking on our next 30-day Challenge. I’m making a stamp chart, and whenever I hear a please, thank-you, excuse me, may I, yes mom, or another gracious word, that child gets a stamp by their name. At the end of the 30 days, we’ll evaluate everyone’s progress and celebrate with a family fun night.

Who’s in on this with us???

6 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge: Training Gracious Kids

  1. Jennifer Libby says:

    We need to do the same thing around our home! We’ve been discussing this very subject…thanks for the reminder:)

  2. That sounds like a wonderful plan! Let us know at the end of the challenge how they did!

  3. Great idea. Our family has tried similar strategies in the past with good results. I think intentional training in this area helps keep good manners at the forefront of everybody’s mind (especially Mom’s, which is important for giving continued guidance to our little ones).

    • deeproets says:

      Thanks! I came upon your blog yesterday on showing respect to your husband, and was challenged and encouraged in this very important area. Yes manners are important but being vigilant in our marriages is the front-line defense for our little ones.

Leave a Reply

