What’s For Dinner Tonight?

This post is for my friends Tabitha and Cindy. I finally found a healthy, flavorful, filling, Daniel-Fast friendly recipe worth sharing! It’s from The Daniel Fast by Susan Gregory. The kids gobbled it up, and trust me, the times are rare where the whole family enjoys my cooking! Somehow I have never tasted this flavor combination before and I’m already thinking of making it again next week.

Tuscan Villa Bean Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup celery

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon whole wheat pastry flour*

1 teaspoon dried rosemary leaves

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme leaves

2 bay leaves

1 whole clove

1/4 teaspoon pepper**

4 cans (15 ounces each) vegetable broth

1 can (15 ounces) green baby lima beans, drained and rinsed***

1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas, drained and rinsed***

1 can (15 ounces) red beans, drained and rinsed***

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1 1/2 cups cooked barley

1 large potato, unpeeled, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1 cup sliced carrots

1 cup packed chopped spinach leaves

1. Heat oil in large soup pot over medium heat; saute onions, celery, and garlic for 2-3 minutes or until onions are tender.

2. Add vegetable broth, beans, and tomato paste to pot; heat to boiling, stirring to prevent sticking.

3. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, for 10-15 minutes.

4. Add barley, potato, carrots, and spinach and simmer 10 more minutes until all ingredients are well heated.

5. Discard bay leaves before serving.

Makes 6 servings.

*I omitted pastry flour

**I was super-generous with the black pepper and it added a touch of spice to the soup which I loved! If you don’t like spicy, stick to the suggested amount.

***I really dislike lima beans, don’t like chickpeas unless they are a part of hummus, and didn’t have red beans! So I substituted a can of cannelini (great northern white) beans and a can of black beans instead and it rocked. I really recommend doing it this way!  I also thew in some leftover Italian Sausage I had (for the kids). They loved it.

4 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner Tonight?

  1. I have this soup simmering on the stove right now! It smells delicious. I just wish I had time to make a loaf of bread to go along with it! I am not at all into cooking right now, so any recipes you want to share is most helpful! Xoxo

  2. msirvio says:

    This sounds so yummy!..and so does your strawberry spinach salad! I’ll be putting this in my soup recipe book for sure. Thanks for sharing, Molly!

    • deeproets says:

      Megan, its so good to hear from you! I’ve missed you since I’m not on fb anymore :). Hope u are well! You should come to our coffee shop one Fri evening at the lake. Would love to see you 🙂

Leave a Reply

