What is a Daniel Fast?

As someone who enjoys eating, I first saw the Daniel Fast as sort of a cop-out. To me, the idea of a fast is to totally deny your flesh the pleasure and satisfaction of food and instead rely on the Word of God as daily ‘Bread.’ Eating anything just seemed a little too easy. But as I considered this fast, the more the Holy Spirit has been challenging me with my mindset. Our family is on a journey to better health, but I believe like anything, the implications are not just physical, they are spiritual too.

“In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.” Daniel 10:2, 3

Simply put, a Daniel Fast is a biblically-based partial fast that includes a diet of vegetables, fruit, and whole grains. It abstains from meat, dairy, sweeter of any kind, yeast, and any beverage except water.

A year ago, my husband and I did a Daniel Fast but did not include whole grain. I’ve since learned why fruits and grains are allowed when the Bible says Daniel ate only vegetables and drank water. The early translations (including KJV) use the word pulse instead of vegetables. That word is rightly translated as “foods grown from seed.” Therefore, the Daniel Fast includes fruits, vegetables and whole grains.

If you are adept at reading between the lines, you will see this means…..no coffeeeee…….

If we are a bit grouchy, groggy, spacey, or otherwise seem impaired in the next few days, please excuse us and remind me the headaches will soon go away. I am not looking forward to caffeine withdrawals!

But I am eager to draw near to the Lord, seek his presence in our lives more, and to wean myself off unhealthy habits. As mothers, it is a great challenge to continue to run the race marked out for us.  There are no false pretenses with raising children. It is hard, dirty, sometimes unrewarding, overwhelming work. When my children argue with each other, are disobedient or whining, I feel like a complete failure. Just being honest here. But the Lord is near! He is ordaining moments to reach their hearts. To speak words of life, calling, purpose, and character into their spirits.

Our oldest daughters were baptized today. Their spiritual journey begins. I am anticipating the presence of God in their lives more and more, and I can’t wait to see how God will speak to them! I am asking God to change me, to renew my spirit, through this time of fasting.

We will be studying the life of Daniel during the next 3 weeks. This website has been especially helpful and encouraging with practical and spiritual application to the Daniel Fast (definitions taked from): http://daniel-fast.com/index.html

Also, this blog: http://danielfast.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “What is a Daniel Fast?

  1. Mariel says:

    Thank you Molly, I feel encouraged. It’s great that you guys are doing this fast, it will be worth it!

  2. Good luck! I am interested to hear how you do. I’ve only juice fasted with nuts and seeds… but it seems the same. Maybe some fresh juice in the morning will help you with headaches. I got over coffee with smoothies with spirulina in the morning, gave me a boost and I didn’t need the coffee. I pray your headaches are minimal though!

    • deeproets says:

      Thanks! Do you use a spirulina supplement or is it a whole food? Also, any recommended brands? I’m going to try that. My husband bought me a great blender, I’m excited to try it out on some smoothies!

      • We buy the powder. I got ours at nuts.com but you can get it in a lot of different places. I was impressed with what all they had at nuts.com we also ordered goji berries and some cocao nubs 🙂 yum!

Leave a Reply

