What’s In a Name?

We sold our car a couple of weeks ago, and the celebration lasted about 60 seconds until I remembered we have no back-up vehicle until we save enough money to pay CASH for a second car! So our family of 6 has been enjoying many sunrises lately as we all pile in our one vehicle at 6am to take my husband to work. I wish my kids were old enough to stay at home by themselves, but alas, 4 more years til my oldest can babysit!

The sunrises are the unexpected blessing. Today the dogwood trees, in full bloom, looked like snow on the rolling Ozark hills. Driving home, I felt the Lord speak to me about naming our homeschool. I was homeschooled just one year, in the 3rd grade, and I remember my mom carefully choosing a name and a logo for our school. St. Francis of Assisi Homeschool. That was the best year of my school-age life.

A name should be meaningful, don’t you agree? My husband and I spent hours considering and praying about what each of our children should be named. Some names required waiting for the right child to be born! Others (our son) were not named until we saw his red face in the hospital. I finally let my husband decide because we couldn’t come to an agreement. His is the only South-African name in the bunch, which seemed fitting since he was born there and is our only son.

One of our first memory verses last year was Psalm 1.

Blessed is the man

who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked…

…but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.

He is like a tree planted by streams of water,

which yields its fruit in season

and whose leaf does not wither.

Whatever he does prospers.

 

Another meaningful verse to us is Isaiah 61:1-3

…”they will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.”

 

So our name is…..get ready…..

Deep Roots Homeschool (or Deep Roets??)

Haha no big surprise, right! I am amazed that the Lord took one of my fears and is turning it into a strength. I feared my kids would struggle with identity, since my husband and I are from two different continents and cultures. The opposite has happened. We are creating a strong family identity, which I think every young couple needs to do. Leaving and cleaving is part of it! We don’t have any extended family nearby, which is definitely difficult but has strengthened our sense of purpose and identity as a family and as husband and wife.

Our goal for our kids is to teach them to love the Lord and to build godly character in their lives. That their roots will go down deep in the Lord.  Only by his grace we can do this!

2 thoughts on “What’s In a Name?

  1. That’s a beautiful name! I also love that you take a potentially negative situation (only having one car) and turning it into an opportunity to see the beautiful creation and spend time with God.

Leave a Reply

