Slavery

Do things sometimes happen to you, grabbing your attention in such a dramatic way, that you know God is speaking?

Today I filled my husband in, word for word, on this dramatic story of freedom from slavery in the 21st century.

I had to look Mauritania up on the map. Northern Africa, edge of the Sahara desert. Slavery was abolished in … 1981?!

The Freedom Project: Ending Modern Day Slavery

Tonight at home group we popped in the Graham Cooke video series on prophetic thinking we’ve been watching. Only instead of Graham Cooke, a Bruce Willis look alike came on explaining how God led him to start a ministry called Not For Sale. Directed at ending… Slavery. His real name is David Batstone, and he is currently helping victims of human trafficking overseas in Thailand, Uganda, Peru, Cambodia, and Romania. Not For Sale also has projects running in the United States.

My wheels were turning, I was on full alert. What is going on, Lord?

Justice. Orphans and widows. Fatherless. Victims. Oppressed. 1700 new slaves every day brought into America. 120,000 right now. 10-20% of Mauritania in slavery. Sex slaves, child slaves, slavery of the mind.

So here’s where I’m coming from. Forever ago, when I was a zealous, idealistic 18 yr I set out to Nepal to end human trafficking. Inspired by my hero Amy Carmichael, I thought I’d do some mighty work for God in Asia. Like uncover underground trafficking operations or something. I walked up and down the dirty streets of Kathmandu for 6 months before finally finding one NGO where I could volunteer to teach English to women trying to rehabilitate from prostitution. Most were sold by their families into prostitution. Village life is a dead end street, so traffickers target them. Most of these women were HIV positive.

I dreamed of sting operations in Mumbai where we’d raid a brothel and bring Nepali girls back home. I met amazing missionary women who were giving the better part of their years to this work. I was in awe, aware of my youth, naively green.

I never even made it across the Indian border.

God ordered my steps in another direction. I felt vision slowly die as I was deported and blacklisted from Nepal. My gut still churns with anxiety inside immigration offices! But that’s another blog 🙂

Does God sometimes allow death of a vision in order to birth a vision?

What would he have me do now, as a mom of 4 kids living in the USA… Land of the Free? What can I do?

David Batstone said we should take one small step. So here’s my plan. God has given this blog as an outlet of expression. We need to become aware. We can influence our culture. My first step is to learn the brands who use child labor and slave labor to manufacture and intentionally purchase elsewhere. There’s even an app to help you with that, its called Free2Work. You can scan in your item and get a “grade” based on slave labor stats.

My second step is to allow my heart to be broken for the injustice and to pray.

Third step? Don’t yet know! Take a look at Not For Sale’s website for inspiring ways to get involved in a cause bigger than yourself.  Find out what to look for in places that might be facilitating human trafficking, right here in the USA.

4 thoughts on “Slavery

  1. Ed Grim says:

    I recently attended a theatre production in Spokane, Wa. entitled Mauritius after the country of which you speak of in your thought provoking blog. The story revolved around stamp collecting if you can imagine that. I wondered how your blog and the play were connected. I believe that it may be about conquest. Using Molly’s phrase, “forever ago,” England took on Mauritania as a colony looking for its resources to use for its advantage. The strong taking advantage of the weak. It’s not a dig on England but a recognition of the way our flawed world has functioned throughout history. Jesus knew this of course living under Roman domination. Back to the play. England “allowed” Mauritania to issue its first stamp which it did. One printing had an error in that the word “post office” was printed on it by mistake…making a very valuable collecting item. The play was about greed as two sisters fought over the stamp after their mother died and two stamp dealers fought with each over over who could take advantage of the two ignorant girls and get the stamp for the lowest price. This seems to be the common denominator for the two stories: greed.

    • deeproets says:

      We’ve just started a study unit on West Africa, largely because this part of the world is so hidden and removed from us. I told C. that we are going to do a survey , asking people if they can name 5 countries in West Africa. I don’t know why Africa suffers so much but at least we can try to understand the dynamics of history and culture. I’d love to be at that play with you!

  2. Rache says:

    Check out this link too….It has some great practical ways to get involved in the fight against slavery
    http://www.72daysforfreedom.com/

Leave a Reply

Slavery

Do things sometimes happen to you, grabbing your attention in such a dramatic way, that you know God is speaking?

Today I filled my husband in, word for word, on this dramatic story of freedom from slavery in the 21st century.

I had to look Mauritania up on the map. Northern Africa, edge of the Sahara desert. Slavery was abolished in … 1981?!

The Freedom Project: Ending Modern Day Slavery

Tonight at home group we popped in the Graham Cooke video series on prophetic thinking we’ve been watching. Only instead of Graham Cooke, a Bruce Willis look alike came on explaining how God led him to start a ministry called Not For Sale. Directed at ending… Slavery. His real name is David Batstone, and he is currently helping victims of human trafficking overseas in Thailand, Uganda, Peru, Cambodia, and Romania. Not For Sale also has projects running in the United States.

My wheels were turning, I was on full alert. What is going on, Lord?

Justice. Orphans and widows. Fatherless. Victims. Oppressed. 1700 new slaves every day brought into America. 120,000 right now. 10-20% of Mauritania in slavery. Sex slaves, child slaves, slavery of the mind.

So here’s where I’m coming from. Forever ago, when I was a zealous, idealistic 18 yr I set out to Nepal to end human trafficking. Inspired by my hero Amy Carmichael, I thought I’d do some mighty work for God in Asia. Like uncover underground trafficking operations or something. I walked up and down the dirty streets of Kathmandu for 6 months before finally finding one NGO where I could volunteer to teach English to women trying to rehabilitate from prostitution. Most were sold by their families into prostitution. Village life is a dead end street, so traffickers target them. Most of these women were HIV positive.

I dreamed of sting operations in Mumbai where we’d raid a brothel and bring Nepali girls back home. I met amazing missionary women who were giving the better part of their years to this work. I was in awe, aware of my youth, naively green.

I never even made it across the Indian border.

God ordered my steps in another direction. I felt vision slowly die as I was deported and blacklisted from Nepal. My gut still churns with anxiety inside immigration offices! But that’s another blog 🙂

Does God sometimes allow death of a vision in order to birth a vision?

What would he have me do now, as a mom of 4 kids living in the USA… Land of the Free? What can I do?

David Batstone said we should take one small step. So here’s my plan. God has given this blog as an outlet of expression. We need to become aware. We can influence our culture. My first step is to learn the brands who use child labor and slave labor to manufacture and intentionally purchase elsewhere. There’s even an app to help you with that, its called Free2Work. You can scan in your item and get a “grade” based on slave labor stats.

My second step is to allow my heart to be broken for the injustice and to pray.

Third step? Don’t yet know! Take a look at Not For Sale’s website for inspiring ways to get involved in a cause bigger than yourself.  Find out what to look for in places that might be facilitating human trafficking, right here in the USA.

Leave a Reply

