30-Day Challenge

In an effort to curb the squabbling, squelch the whining, and promote peace, joy, and kindness among my 4 kiddos, we are doing a 30-day Encouragement Challenge. Each child must say something to build the other up, every day, for 30-days, and at the end of that time Dad is taking us all out to dinner at a ‘fancy’ restaurant (thinking the Olive Garden…) if we are successful.

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up…” 1 Thessalonians 5:11.

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29.

I don’t know about you, but some days, I just long for peace. I want to see my children not only look out for their own interests, but also the interests of each other. I refuse to believe sibling rivalry is normal. I believe God has more for our families as we raise our kids!

What works in your family to promote peace and brotherly affection among your kids? Do you have an ‘I Caught You Being Good’ jar? I’d love to hear your thoughts and ideas. If you are inspired to do this 30-day Challenge with your kids too, let me know so we can do it together and see God work in our lives.

2 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge

  1. Hey, love this idea! When are you starting, totally would love to do it with my kids!

    • deeproets says:

      We started about 2 wks ago, and it really is a challenge! We are all becoming more aware and sincere in what we say, and interestingly enough E. is the one responding the most. We included acts of kindness as well. Would love to hear how it goes for you and any new ideas you have!

Leave a Reply

