What Makes You Happy?

A new outfit makes me happy. For about 3 days. Lasting happiness, we’ll call it joy, comes in another fashion (pun intended). Contentment is a beautiful world. Godliness with contentment is great gain, the Bible says. I’ll compare it to eating junk food when you’re really hungry for a meal. Fills the gap in your tummy for a while, but doesn’t satisfy. Nothing is like a feast of delicious, fresh, whole foods (can you tell its dinner time and I’m getting hungry??). Something superficial like new clothes feels good for a short while, but is fleeting. It does not produce lasting happiness, joy, and contentment.

I don’t know when I first realized this. But the desires of my heart are changing.

As a new mom, almost 9 years ago, I could not STAND to be at home for the whole day, with my baby, not having anything to ‘do’. That was my prevailing attitude up until recently. But somewhere in the last 6 months or so, a very interesting phenomena has occurred. I WANT to be at home with my kids! Instead of finding excuses to go into town, I found myself looking for excuses to stay home.

This is really weird, folks. I’m not depressed or feeling anti-social. I’ve realized that being home, providing a constant, steady, variety of activities for my kids as we home school, is enough for me. That in conjunction with time to work out, church on Sunday, a day off with my family to have fun, and a hot date with my husband AT LEAST once a month. Throw in a trip to the NW once a year and I’m a happy clam.

This might sound contradicting to my previous post about longing for adventure. YES, I still long for adventure. But God is so good! He puts desires in our hearts, and then delights to give them to us. He knows that desire for adventure is in there, its part of my DNA. But for today, he has graciously given me a new desire, to live a full, quiet, life at home raising my children and enjoying my awesome husband. I’m constantly researching and learning new things from permaculture gardening to sprouting grains to making yogurt to sterling silver jewelry to blogging!

I’m going to challenge you now. For us as women, living in a culture that values strong, career-minded, independent, feministic women, it requires a radical transformation of the mind to embrace this biblical teaching.

“…train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.” Titus 2:4,5.

God, in his infinite and perfect goodness, will be so gracious to you as to give you a desire for this, if you are willing, and brave enough, to ask.

4 thoughts on “What Makes You Happy?

  1. Velle says:

    Amen! Happiness is knowing where to shop, but joy is choosing to stay home and play with the baby anyway. What a timely message!

  2. Sexy Christian Wife says:

    I noticed you didn’t mention hanging out with friends, do you ever get lonely being a stay at home mom? Do you go to playgroups or anything?

    • deeproets says:

      Hi! Yes, lonliness has been an on-and-off struggle. We’ve done playgroups, we are part of a homeschool co-op, and I’ve been part of a women’s bible study for many years. We also host a homegroup every other Wednesday. I’ve been blessed with a several dear friends, most of whom live quite far away. Luckily I’m satisfied with a few soul-mates and don’t need a large social group. I’ve tried girls nights out but honestly, when it comes down to it, I’d rather spend time with my husband that anything else. It is so important not to feel isolated! MOPS is another group to try. It wasn’t the right fit for me, but many love it.

Leave a Reply

