Going Organic Without Busting the Budget

The ultimate challenge is before us as women. I love being the manager of my home, simplifying our complicated world to a place of peace. Making our walls salvation and our gates praise.

For a long time, I mostly ignored the organic food trend, not sure if it involved more emotional hype than factual evidence.

2 Peter 1:5,6 says ‘make every effort to add to your faith goodness, and to goodness, knowledge…’. So I began researching.

Two books, and gleaning information from several knowledgeable friends, has convinced me that in order to nurture and protect my family, it is necessary to buy organic, unprocessed, whole foods whenever possible. Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon and Master Your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels present indisputable evidence and sound judgment in going organic. If you don’t have much time to read I suggest starting with Nourishing Traditions. It will unravel everything you have ever been taught about nutrition. I feel much the same as when I first learned evolution is bogus. I feel like we as a society have been deceived! No thanks to growing up in the public school system. After you’ve read her book, let’s talk about butter.

I’ve had lengthy conversations with my DH who cautions me against becoming fanatical…he knows my black and white nature of seeing the world. So I’ve promised to take slow, measured steps in making changes in our family. Here’s some things that we are doing:

1. Get familiar with the “Dirty Dozen” and “Clean Fifteen” lists of pesticide use in produce.

2. Researching where to find affordable raw milk. I’ve been humbled and swallowed my pride recently. My husband, growing up in a farming community in South Africa, grew up drinking whole, raw milk. Turns out he was right to turn up his nose at the watery, pasteurized, fortified, homogenized, chemicalized skim milk I learned to drink.

3. Expand your shopping horizons! Walmart does not have all the answers. We take advantage of our local Mennonite Community’s bulk foods store. They sell fresh, free-range farm eggs, bulk whole grains, pure maple syrup, raw honey, nuts, spices and some organic groceries for great prices. Azure Standard Foods delivers organic products all over the country, now including our Camdenton, MO area. We buy our meat from various farmers and gladly receive wild game from our hunting friends. I’ve rediscovered beans and legumes as a delicious, healthful, and affordable alternative to meat at meals.

4. Work as a Team. My job as home manager does not flow smoothly if my husband is not on board. Bottom Line for him: The Budget. So if we can’t afford 2 organic green peppers at $4.60, I will buy conventional green peppers at $.79 and clean the pesticides off. Dave Ramsey, I will not forget to show up for the Budget Committee Meeting.

5. Entertaining thoughts of getting a goat or raising chickens. Probably down the road, when we are out of the baby and toddler years.

6. Learn how to can. Never done this before, but this summer I am planning to learn how to make jam and can tomatoes.

What are some things you have done in your family to provide better, healthful alternatives? Do you shop organic, or do you grow your own fruit or vegetables? I would love to hear your thoughts, ideas, and suggestions. Leave me a comment below!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “Going Organic Without Busting the Budget

  1. Cassie Halloran says:

    What is the dirty dozen and clean 15? Do you buy all your meet from farmers? Any luck on raw milk?

    • deeproets says:

      I’m trying to set up a link, but if you google it you’ll find a list of the 12 most pesticide-laden foods and the 15 cleanest. We try to get our meat from farmers. I have an order in for a half steer in May, and we get lamb from a farming friend. Organic chicken is harder to come by at a good price, but we’ve decided to build a chicken coop and raise our own! We found a farmer who sells raw milk, but he lives an hour away. We visited him today but will have to find someone closer if we want to make a habit of it. Our local butcher and health-food stores have been a good resource on finding these products.

Leave a Reply

Going Organic Without Busting the Budget

The ultimate challenge is before us as women. I love being the manager of my home, simplifying our complicated world to a place of peace. Making our walls salvation and our gates praise.

For a long time, I mostly ignored the organic food trend, not sure if it involved more emotional hype than factual evidence.

2 Peter 1:5,6 says ‘make every effort to add to your faith goodness, and to goodness, knowledge…’. So I began researching.

Two books, and gleaning information from several knowledgeable friends, has convinced me that in order to nurture and protect my family, it is necessary to buy organic, unprocessed, whole foods whenever possible. Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon and Master Your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels present indisputable evidence and sound judgment in going organic. If you don’t have much time to read I suggest starting with Nourishing Traditions. It will unravel everything you have ever been taught about nutrition. I feel much the same as when I first learned evolution is bogus. I feel like we as a society have been deceived! No thanks to growing up in the public school system. After you’ve read her book, let’s talk about butter.

I’ve had lengthy conversations with my DH who cautions me against becoming fanatical…he knows my black and white nature of seeing the world. So I’ve promised to take slow, measured steps in making changes in our family. Here’s some things that we are doing:

1. Get familiar with the “Dirty Dozen” and “Clean Fifteen” lists of pesticide use in produce.

2. Researching where to find affordable raw milk. I’ve been humbled and swallowed my pride recently. My husband, growing up in a farming community in South Africa, grew up drinking whole, raw milk. Turns out he was right to turn up his nose at the watery, pasteurized, fortified, homogenized, chemicalized skim milk I learned to drink.

3. Expand your shopping horizons! Walmart does not have all the answers. We take advantage of our local Mennonite Community’s bulk foods store. They sell fresh, free-range farm eggs, bulk whole grains, pure maple syrup, raw honey, nuts, spices and some organic groceries for great prices. Azure Standard Foods delivers organic products all over the country, now including our Camdenton, MO area. We buy our meat from various farmers and gladly receive wild game from our hunting friends. I’ve rediscovered beans and legumes as a delicious, healthful, and affordable alternative to meat at meals.

4. Work as a Team. My job as home manager does not flow smoothly if my husband is not on board. Bottom Line for him: The Budget. So if we can’t afford 2 organic green peppers at $4.60, I will buy conventional green peppers at $.79 and clean the pesticides off. Dave Ramsey, I will not forget to show up for the Budget Committee Meeting.

5. Entertaining thoughts of getting a goat or raising chickens. Probably down the road, when we are out of the baby and toddler years.

6. Learn how to can. Never done this before, but this summer I am planning to learn how to make jam and can tomatoes.

What are some things you have done in your family to provide better, healthful alternatives? Do you shop organic, or do you grow your own fruit or vegetables? I would love to hear your thoughts, ideas, and suggestions. Leave me a comment below!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

