Why I Shelved Facebook

Day One of my Facebook fast has begun. This was long overdue, for starters. Many, many times in the last 18 months have I felt a sense I was spending too much time on this site. Then I began to notice an increasing preoccupation with ‘what everyone else’ is doing. A gnawing discontent with my own life after comparing it to my 300-some ‘friends.’

This was not a problem for me until facebook was available on my smart phone, at the touch of a button. I could not stop checking it. I was SHOCKED at how hard it was for me to cancel my account. Total idolatry!

Have you ever felt that you just have too much information about people? We have a mandate from God to love each other. Love covers a multitude of wrongs, it always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. I found myself spending too much energy thinking about what this person said, how others reacted, if I should say anything, and being tempted to judge when I really don’t need to be involved. UNHEALTHY!

I want to really love you! Where is the element of keeping each other accountable, of telling each other the truth, of revealing your soul in a vulnerable moment of ministry when everything you think and did is already plastered all over facebook? I’m tired of feeling unnecessarily hurt by being privy to information not meant for my eyes. Insecurity and self-pity are tired old garments that need no encouragement in my life.

I have witnessed great damage to relationships from thoughtless comments and posts. We forget the internet is public. Would you write that same post on a billboard next to the highway? No, we would call that slander.

This prompting turned into conviction when I inadvertently embarrassed a dear friend on facebook. The written word is much different than the spoken word, which coupled together with tone and body language can communicate a much softer message.

“Everything is permissible, but not everything is beneficial or constructive.”

I commit to not only refraining from facebook during this fast but re-commit to using my time, energy, and thought-life for the glory of God. I already feel less tense and distracted. I’m already more patient with my children. I feel an increased ability to focus in on training them. I can’t wait to see how God is going to fill my time, energy, and thought-life with his presence!

Are you feeling uncomfortable about something in your life? Maybe its not social media for you. Maybe its games, shopping, eating, watching the tube. Fasting is necessary to our spiritual health. Do you dare to ask the Father what he might have you lay down so that he can be your only source of life? Let me know how God is leading you. I love you, and desire to be your face-to-face friend.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

5 thoughts on “Why I Shelved Facebook

  1. Beck says:

    Great words Molly! I always feel so much better when I “declutter” .

  2. Cassie Halloran says:

    Love your writing and your heart behind it. Happy Birthday and may God take you deeper and depper tjis year!

  3. Bekka says:

    I enjoy your blog! Thank so much for sharing. I look forward to each new post. We need to get together again soon!

Leave a Reply

