Reduction

Waking up with my kids crawling into bed with me is a cute start to the day, but not necessarily one that lends itself to a prepared, strong, purposeful day. I spent the whole morning looking towards naptime so I could spend some much needed time in prayer. Finally I laid it out before the Lord. “When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.” Dealing with problems too big for any person to handle, there is One who is robed in majesty and is armed with strength. He doesn’t react to his children with stress and frustration, nor is he dismayed. He cannot be moved. As I make my first attempt at a balsalmic reduction, the kids are running out of the house at the smell of vinegar. I know it stinks but the end product is going to be a sweet, flavorful, rich sauce we will all enjoy tonight. I think I stunk this morning, at least in my inward turmoil, but God is the author and perfector of our faith and he will ensure all the impurities in us are removed. My goal this new school year: to proclaim his love in the morning…not suffer through till nap time, night time, or worse yet, the next day or so.

 

Leave a Reply

